A Few Recipes to Try

I’ve been crazy busy over here, cooking at home and at work, trying to keep up with the garden and the chickens, not to mention the kids and all the normal things that life throws you.

I’ve been trying out a few more recipes from Baking with Julia, that book never steers me wrong. The buttermilk muffins, which I made in a bundt pan because muffins sounded like too much work (I’m ok with a little laziness sometimes) and scones with lemon zest were a big hit with the kids. My husband often likes to proclaim he lives in a bakery, I’m also ok with that. 

Last night for dinner I made farfalle with smoked trout and roasted cauliflower. I tossed it in a sauce of preserved lemons, cream, capers, caramelized onions, and fresh herbs from the garden. It was lovely.

On my list of things I’d like to make in the near future are from Saveur Magazine:

Then there’s all the lovely things at Food Republic (which was started by Marcus Samuelsson, whom I love). 

I have a fresh ham in the freezer that’s about to get brined for a couple of weeks then roasted. And, I’m gearing up for a weekend long bread class in July, another weekend in October on butchery, and life rolls on as usual. 

Image

 

Leave a comment