Sourdough Rye Bread Take 3 (or maybe 10, I’ve lost count)

After a few attempts with the sourdough starter I think I’m finally getting it. I made a single loaf of the Sourdough Rye from Rose Levy Beranbaum‘s The Bread Bible. It looks beautiful (taste testing later once it’s cooled). I still need to perfect the scoring on the top, but otherwise I’ve made progress, hooray!

20140627-094212-34932651.jpg 20140627-094214-34934156.jpg

Update:
Bread was better than I imagined. Feeling pretty proud.
 

20140627-213528-77728822.jpg

I’m very interested in this notion about bread making I found on Rose’s website,

Adding Old Starter to Bread Dough
Aug 12, 2008 | From the kitchen of Rose
Several of my recipes I’ve offered on this blog give an option for adding oldunfreshed stiff sour dough starter when making bread dough. I do this to add depth of flavor, moistness, and longer shelf life. I always have left over starter after the weekly feeding of my sourdough starter so I freeze it exactly for this use.
I would not want to add it to a soft bread dough such as a soft white sandwich loaf or brioche because it makes the texture slightly firmer. But I do add it to most other doughs and I do add it to challah because it makes the dough more stretchy and easier to braid.
You need to keep in mind that there is no salt in this starter so you need to add extra salt to balance the flour and water. You may also need to use a slightly larger pan or cut off the equivalent amount or weight of dough and bake it as a roll.
If you retard the dough overnight, it will not rise quite as high so you can then use the same size bread pan as the one you would use without the starter. A bread that rises to 5 inches for example will rise to only about 4 1/2 inches if retarded for 8 to 12 hours.
Of course you will need to make or purchase a sour dough starter and add enough flour to it to make it the consistency of soft bread dough.
To determine how much starter to use in the dough, multiply the weight of the flour in the dough by 16% and that will be the weight of the starter.
For every 75 grams/2.6 ounces of starter add 1/8 teaspoon salt to the recipe.
I like to soften the starter by cutting or tearing it in pieces and soaking it in the water used for the dough for 30 minutes before adding the other ingredients. This helps to distribute it more evenly throughout the dough….

 

I’m looking forward to playing with this more.

 

 

Leave a Reply

