Sustainability Class (or what I should have told the students)

Today was my first time teaching a college level class. It may be the last time, I was subbing for one of my favorite instructors, but I hope I get a chance to do it again. Sustainability relating to our food system is a topic I hold dear.

We were finishing up a lecture/discussion about the following words related to a sustainable food system;

  • Sacred
  • Healthful
  • Diverse
  • Seasonal/ temporal
  • Value oriented economics
  • Relational

I want to inspire others to hold these concepts dear too, but at this moment mostly I’d like the opportunity to teach the class again so I can try out the things I wish I’d said.

My favorite is this one;

“My mom had a garden when I was growing up, and it was really hard work”
You’re right it is hard work! Aren’t you glad you appreciate what goes into growing food? I’m sure you are a lot more respectful of food and farmers from having that experience.

Then I wish we could have spent the hour talking about what makes you feel nourished and why. Life is about learning and I relish the opportunity to learn more about sharing my passions and learning new things about them too.

 

One thought on “Sustainability Class (or what I should have told the students)

Leave a Reply

