Almond Coffee Cake

Almond Coffeecake

Since we’re out of cereal and I’m on vacation from school I decided to throw a coffee cake together for breakfast. I followed The Joy of Cooking recipe for sour cream coffee cake with a couple of alterations. I substituted 1/2 cup of almond meal for 1/2 cup of flour, added about a teaspoon of almond extract, a dash of ginger and nutmeg, and used almond meal and coconut flour for the streusel topping. It was moist and tender (despite the fact that I added the toping about 10 minutes into baking because I forgot about it).

Leave a Reply

