QS SCA

IMG_0821

Our major practical project for summer quarter was a Show Platter. I chose to make a salmon mousseline with a touch of nutmeg, wrapped in leeks with an inlay of asparagus as my grosse piece. Two colors of beets and green beans en gelee as my secondary, vegetables marinated in a caraway dressing as my composee, and smoked trout tarts with dill as my accompaniment. It was an interesting week and all in all I’m happy with the results, despite some imperfections.

20130709-142935.jpg20130709-142952.jpg

There are a couple of stations this quarter where we get to choose recipes and I chose bulgogi with banchan for my entree rotation. I marinated thinly sliced rib eye, then grilled it, serving it over rice with radishes, cucumbers and bean sprouts. We also made marinated and baked tofu with soba noodles and chicken with rice noodles, but my favorite was the bulgogi by far.

 

20130801-160721.jpg  20130801-160729.jpg

We made two types of smorrebrod and three types of canapés for this station, but this one was my favorite by far. Pumpernickel spread with butter, cucumber slices, horseradish and beetroot gravlax, dilled horseradish cream, topped with fresh herbs.

Leave a Reply

